Skip to main content

College Writing 1--Crane-Laracuente

Strategies and tips to locate & gather resources for your research project.

Requesting Article Copies

Please email all article copy requests to: library@newmanu.edu

Searching for Journal Articles

College Writing 1 Power Search
Limit Your Results
  • Select / Deselect all
  • Academic Search Premier
  • Business Source Premier
  • Communication & Mass Media Complete
  • Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
  • MasterFILE Premier
  • Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
  • SocINDEX with Full Text
  • TOPICsearch

 

The library provides access to a wide variety of databases.  Some are general in nature, meaning they have articles that cover a multitude of topics.  Others are specific in nature, focused on a single discipline or subject area. Getting started, we suggest that you begin with the general databases, moving toward subject or discipline databases as you narrow down your topic. The search box above will get you started in the general databases, searching for scholarly articles.

You can begin searching by using the keywords and subject headings that you've identified.  You'll find a mixture of both full text and non full text articles in your result list.  You can request copies of articles through interlibrary loan, this is a free service for you as a Newman University student.  We will 'borrow' copies for you from other libraries.  Unlike books that we borrow from other libraries, article copies don't have to be returned and are yours to keep. If you're not sure what databases to search or where to get started, please be sure to ask Professor Crane or one of our librarians.  We'd be happy to help you get started.

Full Text Finder

This video will walk you through searching for full text availability of journal in our library.  This can be helpful if you have a specific journal article you are looking for or if you want to browse a publication.

Click here to begin searching Full Text Finder!