Skip to main content

NSP: Law & Ancient Order

Tips and hints for locating resources for your research assignment.

Requesting Article Copies

Please email all article copy requests to: library@newmanu.edu

Searching for Journal Articles

The library provides access to a wide variety of databases.  Some are general in nature, meaning they have articles that cover a multitude of topics.  Others are specific in nature, focused on a single discipline or subject area. When getting started, we suggest that you begin with the general databases, moving toward subject or discipline databases as you narrow down your topic.

You can begin searching by using the keywords and subject headings that you've identified.  You'll find a mixture of both full text and non full text articles in your result list.  You can request copies of articles through interlibrary loan, this is a free service for you as a Newman University student. If you're not sure what databases to search or where to get started, please be sure to ask one of our librarians.  We'd be happy to help you get started.

Law & Ancient Order Power Search
Limit Your Results

Other Databases to search:

JSTOR SEARCH TIPS

  • Uncheck the "Include only content I can access" box
  • An author search is searching for the author of the article, not the person the article is about
  • Even though subject heading is not a search choice, you can still type in the subject headings to search
  • You will find the item type listed to the right of the title information
  • Copy and paste the citation information into the body of an email to request a copy of an article, book, or book chapter