Skip to main content

Intro to Lit & Crit--Crane-Laracuente

Research guide to locate resources for the Interpretation Project

Requesting Article Copies

Please email all article copy requests to: library@newmanu.edu

Search Tips

Literature Search
Limit Your Results

 

EBSCOhost LITERATURE SEARCH TIPS

  • Search author names as "subject"
  • Advanced search, check the box, "also search within the full text of the articles"
  • For stories that appeared in a collection, search for the collection title
  • Newer authors won't always have a listing in the indexes
  • The indexes for the databases can be tricky to navigate
    • The easiest way to narrow down to a specific author is by using the "author index" search feature available in "Literary Reference Center"--you access this using the search box on the left of this page
      • Select "More" from the blue menu bar near the top of the screen
      • Go to "Indexes" and select "Literary Reference Center"
      • From "Browse an Index" select "Authors by Name" from the drop down menu
      • Type in the last name of the author you are searching for
      • Check the box to the left of the author you are searching for, click on the gray "Add" box. Your author's name will be put into the search box at the top of the screen for a subject search
      • Click the green "Search" box near the top of the screen.  Select a book entry from the displayed entries about your author
        • You should now be able to explore all types of resources about your author
  • Use the email feature to request copies of articles and book chapters that are not available full text in the databases

JSTOR SEARCH TIPS

  • Uncheck the "Include only content I can access" box
  • An author search is searching for the author of the article, not the person the article is about
  • Even though subject heading is not a search choice, you can still type in the subject headings to search
  • You will find the item type listed to the right of the title information
  • Copy and paste the citation information into the body of an email to request a copy of an article, book, or book chapter

Dugan Library and WorldCat Discovery Search Tips

Searching in either of these catalogs is a little different than using the databases.  You're going to be more likely to find books about the entire body of work of a specific author rather than an entire book about an individual work.

  • Search for your author as a subject heading
  • Add the search term criticism & interpretation as either a subject heading or keyword
  • Search for biographies or autobiographies