Skip to main content

Communication: Rhetoric Theory & Criticism

Basic search tips and strategies for communication students

Searching Rhetoric Journals

Dugan Library subscribes to the database, Communication & Mass Media Complete.  You are strongly encouraged by Professor Berg to make use of this database for your research in this course.  In addition, there are several journals that are also recommended.  If you're not certain about whether or not you can use a particular publication, please just ask Professor Berg.  

A portion of the journals suggested by your instructor for your research are not available to search in our collection of databases.  However, they can be searched from the publisher websites.  Links for all of the publisher websites are included on this page as well as links and information regarding the journals available in the database. The links will take you directly to the database or publisher site to begin searching.  If articles are not available in full text you will need to use the library's interlibrary loan service. 

Interlibrary loan is a free service for all students currently registered at Newman University.  If you're not sure how to submit an interlibrary loan request please look for help under the 'Need Help?' tab on this guide or email: library@newmanu.edu

 

Argumentation

This title is available full text in EBSCO from 1997--12 months ago. Indexing for the most recent 12 months is also available. You can request article copies of the most recent articles from interlibrary loan by emailing the citation to parkerj@newmanu.edu

Argumentation & Advocacy

This title is available full text in EBSCO from 1990--most recent issue. 

Advances in the History of Rhetoric

This title is available full text in EBSCO from 2006--most recent issue. Indexing from 1996-2006 is also available. You can request article copies of the non full text articles from interlibrary loan by emailing the citation to parkerj@newmanu.edu

Communication and Critical/Cultural Studies

This title is available full text in EBSCO from 2004--18 months ago. Indexing from 2004--most recent issue is available. You can request article copies of the most recent articles from interlibrary loan by emailing the citation to parkerj@newmanu.edu

Critical Studies in Media Communication

This title is available full text in EBSCO from 1984--18 months ago. Indexing from 1984--most recent issue is available. You can request article copies of the most recent articles from interlibrary loan by emailing the citation to parkerj@newmanu.edu

Journal of Contemporary Rhetoric

This title is available full text in EBSCO from 2011--most recent issue. 

KB Journal

Loading ...

Philosophy & Rhetoric

This title is available full text in EBSCO from 1968-2012. Indexing from 1968 to the most recent issue is available. You can request article copies of the most recent articles from interlibrary loan by emailing the citation to parkerj@newmanu.edu

Quarterly Journal of Speech

This title is available full text in EBSCO from 1915--18 months ago. Indexing from 1915 to the most recent issue is available. You can request article copies of the most recent articles from interlibrary loan by emailing the citation to parkerj@newmanu.edu

Rhetoric Review

This title is available in EBSCO to search citations and abstracts.  Articles published from 1982 to the most recent issue are available.  You can request article copies from any issue through interlibrary loan by emailing the citation to parkerj@newmanu.edu

Rhetoric Society Quarterly

Search and browse all issues of this journal at the publisher website.  Links to some of the most recent articles are shown below, click the links to be taken to the abstract and citation information.

 You can request article copies from interlibrary loan.

Loading ...

Relevant Rhetoric

This title is available full text in EBSCO from 2010--most recent issue.

Rhetorica

Indexing for this title is available in EBSCO from 2000 to the most recent issue. You can request article copies of the non full text articles from interlibrary loan by emailing the citation to parkerj@newmanu.edu

Western Journal of Communication

This title is available full text in EBSCO from 1937--12 months ago. Indexing from 1937 to the most recent issue is available. You can request article copies of the most recent articles from interlibrary loan by emailing the citation to parkerj@newmanu.edu

Women's Studies in Communication

This title is available full text in EBSCO from 2004--most recent issue. Indexing from 1977--2004 is also available. You can request article copies of the older articles from interlibrary loan by emailing the citation to parkerj@newmanu.edu