Skip to main content

History of Medieval Philosophy PHIL 2153

Strategies & tips to locate resources for your writing assignments.

Requesting Article Copies

Please email all article copy requests to: library@newmanu.edu

Searching for Journal Articles

Philosophy Power Search
Limit Your Results
  • Select / Deselect all
  • Academic Search Premier
  • Art Abstracts (H.W. Wilson)
  • Art Full Text (H.W. Wilson)
  • Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials
  • MasterFILE Premier
  • MLA International Bibliography with Full Text
  • Religion and Philosophy Collection

You might also try these additional resources:

The library provides access to a wide variety of databases.  Some are general in nature, meaning they have articles that cover a multitude of topics.  Others are specific in nature, focused on a single discipline or subject area. When getting started, we suggest that you begin with the general databases, moving toward subject or discipline databases as you narrow down your topic.

You can begin searching by using the keywords and subject headings that you've identified.  You'll find a mixture of both full text and non full text articles in your result list.  You can request copies of articles through interlibrary loan, this is a free service for you as a Newman University student. If you're not sure what databases to search or where to get started, please be sure to ask one of our librarians.  We'd be happy to help you get started.

Additional Resources

In addition to books and articles you may locate, your professor has recommended you use philosophy resources located online. These resources are straightforward to access and navigate. Information for citing these sources can be found on the 'Citing Sources' tab of this guide.

  • Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy is a highly regarded, peer-reviewed and open access resource for novice and expert philosophers and everyone in between! This full text resource is recommended by your professor.
  • Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy organizes scholars from around the world in philosophy and related disciplines to create and maintain an up-to-date reference work. This full text resource is recommended by your professor.

Selecting Databases

Of course, you can read through all of the many database descriptions that are provided and meticulously select which ones to search (targeted search), or you can search them all at once (blanket search).  There are pro's and con's to both.  

Targeted search:

  • Pro: You can eliminate false positives, digging through results that have no bearing on your topic
  • Con: You may not have very many results to work with; this can be especially frustrating depending on your level of experience with searching databases

Blanket search:

  • Pro: You can discover something that you might not have otherwise
  • Con: You have so many results you are overwhelmed trying to find something you can use; again, depending on your comfort level with library databases, this may or may not be an issue

It's up to you to decide.  We've provided a way to search in a targeted manner, but you can very easily change that if you prefer the blanket method!

Full Text Finder

This video will walk you through searching for full text availability of journal in our library.  This can be helpful if you have a specific journal article you are looking for or if you want to browse a publication.

Click here to begin searching Full Text Finder!