LibGuides: Theology: Biblical Research

Biblical Research

Using & Understanding Bible Tools

Dugan Library has many Bible tools to help students to delve deeper in their study and understanding of the Holy Bible.

This is a list of the most commonly used Bible tools and their purpose:

Bible Atlas: Collection of maps and explanations showing places mentioned in the Bible; may also touch on history and significance of locations.
Bible Dictionary or Encyclopedia: Explains the origin, meaning, and use of key words and terms in the text
Concordance: Index to the Bible. Lists all of the words of the text alphabetically with references for where they appear, along with a few of the surrounding words to provide context.
Commentaries: Explains and interprets sections of the Bible; defines words; provides background information

Multiple copies and versions are available for in-library use in the Reference section as well as available for check-out from the stacks on the second floor of Dugan Library.

Bible Tools in Dugan Library
This files contains descriptions of different Bible tools and where to find them in our library.

Using the ATLA Religion Database

ATLA Religion Database with ATLA Serials This link opens in a new window
The ATLA Religion Database with Serials Includes more than 620,000 article citations from more than 1,746 journals, more than 250,000 essay citations, more than 570,000 book review citations, and a growing number of multimedia citations. It also includes the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion.

Search within ATLA by Scripture Passage

Video does not contain any audio.