LibGuides: Theology--MTS & MA in Theology: Finding Journal Articles

Finding Articles for Theology

For general information about using library databases, see Find Articles in our Research Basics Guide.

Accessing Library Databases

When off-campus, you will need to log into library databases using your Newman Microsoft Office 365 account. If you have not set this up or have not received information about doing so, you will need to contact the Newman IT Help Desk at (316) 942-4291 ext. 2222 or support@newmanu.edu.

No login is required for databases marked non-subscription ().

Theology Power Search

Want to quickly get started? Use the Theology Power Search box to search within multiple relevant databases in a single search (Academic Search Premier, Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials, MLA International Bibliography with Full Text, Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection, and Religion & Philosophy Collection).

JSTOR

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides page images of back issues of the core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and basic sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication. Users may browse by journal title or discipline, or may search the full-text or citations/abstracts. New issues of existing titles and new titles are added approximately on a weekly basis. Sign up for a free individual account to view articles on JSTOR.

Other Individual Databases Relevant to Theology

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.

ARDA This link opens in a new window
ARDA is an open archive of data on religion in the United States and around the world.

ATLA Religion Database with ATLA Serials This link opens in a new window
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials combines the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion with ATLA's online collection of major religion and theology journals. The ATLA Religion Database includes more than 620,000 article citations from more than 1,746 journals (575 currently indexed), more than 250,000 essay citations from over 18,000 multi-author works, more than 570,000 book review citations, and a growing number of multimedia citations. In ATLASerials, full text is provided for more than 380,000 electronic articles and book reviews. This database is produced by the American Theological Library Association.

MLA International Bibliography with Full Text This link opens in a new window
The MLA International Bibliography with Full Text combines the definitive index for the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, and film with full text for more than 1,000 journals, including many of the leading publications in these fields. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA) and international in scope, the bibliography covers scholarly publications from the early 20th century to the present, including journal articles, books, articles in books, series, translations, scholarly editions, websites, and dissertations. The database also includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals and the MLA Thesaurus, a proprietary, searchable collection of thousands of subject terms, and personal names used in indexing the bibliography.

Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection is a comprehensive database covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods. This is the world's largest full-text psychology database offering full text coverage for nearly 400 journals.

Religion & Philosophy Collection This link opens in a new window
Religion & Philosophy Collection provides extensive coverage of such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy. With more more than 300 full text journals, the Religion & Philosophy Collection is an essential tool for researchers and students of theology and philosophical studies.