Skip to main content

NSP: Memories of Combat

Strategies & tips for locating resources for your research project

Requesting Article Copies

Please email all article copy requests to: library@newmanu.edu

Searching for Journal Articles

Memories of Combat Power Search
Limit Your Results

The library provides access to a wide variety of databases.  Some are general in nature, meaning they have articles that cover a multitude of topics.  Others are specific in nature, focused on a single discipline or subject area. When getting started, we suggest that you begin with the general databases, moving toward subject or discipline databases as you narrow down your topic.

You can begin searching by using the keywords and subject headings that you've identified.  You'll find a mixture of both full text and non full text articles in your result list.  You can request copies of articles through interlibrary loan, this is a free service for you as a Newman University student. If you're not sure what databases to search or where to get started, please be sure to ask one of our librarians.  We'd be happy to help you get started.

This video shows how to search for a variety of topics in research articles.

This video shows how to search for literary analysis and criticism.

Selecting Databases

Of course, you can read through all of the many database descriptions that are provided and meticulously select which ones to search (targeted search), or you can search them all at once (blanket search).  There are pro's and con's to both.  

Targeted search:

  • Pro: You can eliminate false positives, digging through results that have no bearing on your topic
  • Con: You may not have very many results to work with; this can be especially frustrating depending on your level of experience with searching databases

Blanket search:

  • Pro: You can discover something that you might not have otherwise
  • Con: You have so many results you are overwhelmed trying to find something you can use; again, depending on your comfort level with library databases, this may or may not be an issue

It's up to you to decide.  We've provided a way to search in a targeted manner, but you can very easily change that if you prefer the blanket method!