LibGuides: Communication: Finding Journal Articles

Finding Articles for Communication

For general information about using library databases, see Find Articles in our Research Basics Guide.

Accessing Library Databases

When off-campus, you will need to log into library databases using your Newman Microsoft Office 365 account. If you have not set this up or have not received information about doing so, you will need to contact the Newman IT Help Desk at (316) 942-4291 ext. 2222 or support@newmanu.edu.

No login is required for databases marked non-subscription ().

Communication Power Search

Want to quickly get started? Use the Communication Power Search box to search within multiple relevant databases in a single search (Academic Search Premier, Business Source Premier, Communication & Mass Media Complete, MLA International Bibliography with Full Text, PsycARTICLES, Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection, PsycINFO, and SocINDEX with Full Text).

Individual Databases Relevant to Communication

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.

APA PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
PsycArticles, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. It contains more than 153,000 articles from nearly 80 journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA), its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychological Association and the Hogrefe Publishing Group. It includes all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to the present and nearly all APA journals go back to Volume 1, Issue 1.

APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
The PsycInfo database, American Psychological Association’s (APA) renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains over 3 million records and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s with one of the highest DOI matching rates in the publishing industry. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from around 2,500 periodicals in dozens of languages.

Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Business Source Premier is the industry’s most used business research database, providing full text for more than 2,300 journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed titles. This database provides full text back to 1886, and searchable cited references back to 1998. Business Source Premier is superior to the competition in full text coverage in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. This database is updated daily on EBSCOhost.

Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Communication & Mass Media Complete provides quality research in areas related to communication and mass media and other closely-related fields of study to encompass the communication discipline. CMMC offers cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 570 journals, and selected coverage of nearly 200 more, for a combined coverage of more than 770 titles. This database includes full text for over 450 journals.

Issues & Controversies This link opens in a new window
This resource is only available to users in the state of Kansas.
Issues & Controversies explores and analyzes hundreds of hot topics in politics, business, government, crime, law, energy, education, health, family, science, foreign policy, race, rights, society, and culture. Updated weekly, with a wire-service newsfeed providing the latest headline stories, Issues & Controversies offers in-depth articles designed to inspire thought-provoking debates and research papers. In addition to its original articles, Issues & Controversies features breaking news from Reuters; editorials and opinion pieces from the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Atlantic, and other major newspapers and magazines; and helpful background information, including the central pro/con arguments, essential primary documents, vital statistics, and chronologies of key events.

MLA International Bibliography with Full Text This link opens in a new window
The MLA International Bibliography with Full Text combines the definitive index for the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, and film with full text for more than 1,000 journals, including many of the leading publications in these fields. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA) and international in scope, the bibliography covers scholarly publications from the early 20th century to the present, including journal articles, books, articles in books, series, translations, scholarly editions, websites, and dissertations. The database also includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals and the MLA Thesaurus, a proprietary, searchable collection of thousands of subject terms, and personal names used in indexing the bibliography.

Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection is a comprehensive database covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods. This is the world's largest full-text psychology database offering full text coverage for nearly 400 journals.

SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
SocINDEX with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database. The database features more than 2.1 million records with subject headings from a 20,000+ term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers. SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for more than 860 journals dating back to 1908. This database also includes full text for more than 830 books and monographs, and full text for over 16,800 conference papers.

US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
U.S. Newsstream enables users to search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format. For academic and public libraries, U.S. Newsstream offers exclusive access to the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and co-exclusive access (with Factiva) to The Wall Street Journal. U.S. Newsstream also offers one of the largest collections of local and regional newspapers.

World News Digest This link opens in a new window
World News Digest contains more than 300,000 original articles from 1940 to today. These include overviews of historic events, country profiles, historical documents, biographies, research features, special reports, editorials, and editorial cartoons. World News Digest also provides access to extensive historical video footage from the 1940s through the 2010s.