LibGuides: Spanish: Finding Journal Articles

Finding Articles for Spanish

For general information about using library databases, see Find Articles in our Research Basics Guide.

Accessing Library Databases

When off-campus, you will need to log into library databases using your Newman Microsoft Office 365 account. If you have not set this up or have not received information about doing so, you will need to contact the Newman IT Help Desk at (316) 942-4291 ext. 2222 or support@newmanu.edu.

No login is required for databases marked non-subscription ().

Spanish Power Search

Want to quickly get started? Use the Spanish Power Search box to search within multiple relevant databases in a single search (Academic Search Premier, Fuente Académica, MedicLatina, and MLA International Bibliography with Full Text).

Individual Databases Relevant to Spanish

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.

European Views of the Americas: 1493-1750 This link opens in a new window
This bibliographic database is a valuable index for libraries, scholars and individuals interested in European works that relate to the Americas. This resource was co-developed by John Alden and the Curator of European Books at The John Carter Brown Library, Dennis Landis. It represents a wide range of topics, from the British/French/Dutch in America to natural disasters, religious orders, slavery and more. The database contains more than 32,000 entries and is a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750.

Fuente Academica This link opens in a new window
Fuente Académica offers more than 450 scholarly journals from Latin America, Portugal and Spain. All major subject areas are covered with particular emphasis on agriculture, biological sciences, economics, history, law, literature, philosophy, psychology, public administration, religion, and sociology. The database is updated weekly.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides page images of back issues of the core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and basic sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication. Users may browse by journal title or discipline, or may search the full-text or citations/abstracts. New issues of existing titles and new titles are added approximately on a weekly basis. Sign up for a free individual account to view articles on JSTOR.

MedicLatina This link opens in a new window
MedicLatina is a unique collection of medical research and investigatory journals from renowned Latin American and Spanish publishers. This Spanish language database contains full text for 130 peer-reviewed medical journals in native Spanish.

MLA International Bibliography with Full Text This link opens in a new window
The MLA International Bibliography with Full Text combines the definitive index for the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, and film with full text for more than 1,000 journals, including many of the leading publications in these fields. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA) and international in scope, the bibliography covers scholarly publications from the early 20th century to the present, including journal articles, books, articles in books, series, translations, scholarly editions, websites, and dissertations. The database also includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals and the MLA Thesaurus, a proprietary, searchable collection of thousands of subject terms, and personal names used in indexing the bibliography.

World News Digest This link opens in a new window
World News Digest contains more than 300,000 original articles from 1940 to today. These include overviews of historic events, country profiles, historical documents, biographies, research features, special reports, editorials, and editorial cartoons. World News Digest also provides access to extensive historical video footage from the 1940s through the 2010s.

Recommended Individual Journals

Did you know that you can search specific journal titles and browse issues to see what articles have been published?

Spanish faculty have recommended this specific title to get you started.

Confluencia: Revista Hispánica de Cultura y Literatura
For Literary criticism & unpublished literature of the Hispanic world, including Portugal & Brazil.

Once you click on the link, the issues are displayed with the most recent articles/issues first. Use keywords or subject headings to search for particular topics.

Other Resources

Democracy Now! Titulares en Español
Democracy Now! es una organización sin ánimo de lucro 501(c)3 dedicada a la producción de noticias. No aceptamos financiamiento publicitario, corporativo o gubernamental. Dependemos de las contribuciones de nuestros oyentes y televidentes para hacer nuestro trabajo. Por favor, haga su contribución hoy.
El Pericoin
Visit the Facebook page for this local bi-lingual publication.
Spanish Language Newspapers
A link to a variety of Spanish language newspapers from a variety of countries.