Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Chemistry/Physics: Finding Journal Articles

Basic search tips and strategies for chemistry and physics students

Requesting Article Copies

Please email all article copy requests to: library@newmanu.edu

Chemistry & Physics Power Search
Limit Your Results
  • Select / Deselect all
  • Academic Search Premier
  • Agricola
  • Applied Science & Technology Index (H.W. Wilson)
  • GreenFILE
  • Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
  • MasterFILE Premier
  • MEDLINE
  • Military & Government Collection

You might also try these other resources:

Requesting Article Copies Video

No full text for the articles you want? Request copies using the library's interlibrary loan service. Obtain the article copies quickly and at no charge!

Sample Subject Headings

  • Chemistry
  • Gravity
  • Molecular orbitals
  • Physical organic chemistry
  • Biochemistry
  • Synthesis
  • Organic compounds
  • Spectrum analysis
  • Chemistry, analytic
  • Force and energy
  • Physics

Adding Databases to Your Search

Need to make changes to your database selections in EBSCO? This quick video demonstrates how easy is it to change your search.

Search Tips

  • Experiment with a variety of keywords and subject headings
  • Use "advance search" options to limit to full text, peer review, date ranges and more
  • Selecting the correct database or combination of databases can save you time when looking for articles
  • Remember that you can get copies of articles through interlibrary loan if they're not full text in the database

Full Text Finder

This video will walk you through searching for full text availability of journal in our library.  This can be helpful if you have a specific journal article you are looking for or if you want to browse a publication.

Click here to begin searching Full Text Finder!