LibGuides: Education: Finding Journal Articles

Finding Articles for Education

For general information about using library databases, see Find Articles in our Research Basics Guide.

Accessing Library Databases

When off-campus, you will need to log into library databases using your Newman Microsoft Office 365 account. If you have not set this up or have not received information about doing so, you will need to contact the Newman IT Help Desk at (316) 942-4291 ext. 2222 or support@newmanu.edu.

No login is required for databases marked non-subscription ().

Education Power Search

Want to quickly get started? Use the Education Power Search box to search within multiple relevant databases in a single search (Academic Search Premier, Education Abstracts (H.W. Wilson), ERIC, MasterFILE Premier, Professional Development Collection, PsycARTICLES, Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection, PsycINFO, and Teacher Reference Center).

Individual Databases Relevant to Education

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.

APA PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
PsycArticles, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. It contains more than 153,000 articles from nearly 80 journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA), its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychological Association and the Hogrefe Publishing Group. It includes all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to the present and nearly all APA journals go back to Volume 1, Issue 1.

APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
The PsycInfo database, American Psychological Association’s (APA) renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains over 3 million records and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s with one of the highest DOI matching rates in the publishing industry. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from around 2,500 periodicals in dozens of languages.

Education Abstracts (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Education Abstract provides indexing and abstracts for more than 680 periodicals and yearbooks, dating as far back as 1983. Books on education published after 1995 are also indexed. Subject coverage includes adult education, multicultural/ethnic education, teaching methods, and much more.

ERIC This link opens in a new window
ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources. The database contains more than 1.3 million records and provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index.

MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new window
Designed specifically for public libraries, this multidisciplinary database provides full text for nearly 1,700 periodicals with full-text information dating as far back as 1975. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Premier also contains full text for nearly 500 reference books and over 164,400 primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of over 592,000 photos, maps & flags. This database is updated daily via EBSCOhost.

Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window
Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 520 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports. Professional Development Collection is the most comprehensive collection of full-text education journals in the world.

Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection is a comprehensive database covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods. This is the world's largest full-text psychology database offering full text coverage for nearly 400 journals.

Teacher Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Teacher Reference Center provides indexing and abstracts for 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.