LibGuides: Mathematics: Finding Journal Articles

Finding Articles for Mathematics

For general information about using library databases, see Find Articles in our Research Basics Guide.

Accessing Library Databases

When off-campus, you will need to log into library databases using your Newman Microsoft Office 365 account. If you have not set this up or have not received information about doing so, you will need to contact the Newman IT Help Desk at (316) 942-4291 ext. 2222 or support@newmanu.edu.

No login is required for databases marked non-subscription ().

Mathematics Power Search

Want to quickly get started? Use the Mathematics Power Search box to search within multiple relevant databases in a single search (Academic Search Premier, Applied Science & Technology Abstracts (H.W. Wilson), Business Source Premier, Computer Source, Education Abstracts (H.W. Wilson), ERIC, MasterFILE Premier, Professional Development Collection, Teacher Reference Center, and TOPICsearch).

Individual Databases Relevant to Mathematics

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.

Applied Science & Technology Abstracts (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Applied Science & Technology Abstracts contains indexing and abstracts for nearly 800 core English-language, scientific and technical publications back to 1983. Content includes coverage of a wide variety of applied science specialties—acoustics to aeronautics, neural networks to nuclear and civil engineering, computers and informatics and much more.

Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Business Source Premier is the industry’s most used business research database, providing full text for more than 2,300 journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed titles. This database provides full text back to 1886, and searchable cited references back to 1998. Business Source Premier is superior to the competition in full text coverage in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. This database is updated daily on EBSCOhost.

Computer Source This link opens in a new window
Computer Source provides researchers with the latest information and current trends in high technology. This database offers full text for nearly 300 publications and indexing and abstracts for nearly 450 publications.

Education Abstracts (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Education Abstract provides indexing and abstracts for more than 680 periodicals and yearbooks, dating as far back as 1983. Books on education published after 1995 are also indexed. Subject coverage includes adult education, multicultural/ethnic education, teaching methods, and much more.

ERIC This link opens in a new window
ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources. The database contains more than 1.3 million records and provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides page images of back issues of the core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and basic sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication. Users may browse by journal title or discipline, or may search the full-text or citations/abstracts. New issues of existing titles and new titles are added approximately on a weekly basis. Sign up for a free individual account to view articles on JSTOR.

MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new window
Designed specifically for public libraries, this multidisciplinary database provides full text for nearly 1,700 periodicals with full-text information dating as far back as 1975. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Premier also contains full text for nearly 500 reference books and over 164,400 primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of over 592,000 photos, maps & flags. This database is updated daily via EBSCOhost.

Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window
Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 520 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports. Professional Development Collection is the most comprehensive collection of full-text education journals in the world.

Teacher Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Teacher Reference Center provides indexing and abstracts for 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.

TOPICsearch This link opens in a new window
TOPICsearch contains full text for over 150,961 articles from 475 diverse sources including international and regional newspapers, EBSCO's unparalleled collection of periodicals, biographies, public opinion polls, book reviews, pamphlets, and government information.