See sections 14.168–187 in The Chicago Manual for more information.
Use the listed elements below, where applicable, for citations in both notes and the bibliography.
Variations on the order, inclusion, and punctuation of elements will exist between note and bibliography forms.
See below for examples of footnotes, shortened notes, and bibliography entries for a variety of journal types.
Elements to include when citing a journal article from section 14.165 of The Chicago Manual:
Some journals use a continuous publishing model where each article has a unique article ID, and pagination for each article starts a page 1 (as opposed to continuous pagination between articles in an issue). The Schretter article is an example. In the notes, cited pages can be referenced, followed by a comma and the article ID (in this case 74). In the bibliography, only the article ID is referenced, not a page range.
1. Karen-edis Barzman, "Cultural Production, Religious Devotion, and Subjectivity in Early Modern Italy: The Case Study of Maria Maddalena de’ Pazzi," Annali d’Italianistica 13 (1995): 285, http://www.jstor.org/stable/24006575.
2. Lukas Schretter, "Making Friends, Making Families: Post-World War II Marriages between Austrian Women and British Soldiers, 1945–1955," Genealogy 6, no. 3 (September 2022): 5–8, 74, https://doi:10.3390/genealogy6030074.
3. Schretter, "Making Friends," 15.
4. Barzman, "Cultural Production," 301.
Barzman, Karen-edis. "Cultural Production, Religious Devotion, and Subjectivity in Early Modern Italy: The Case Study of Maria Maddalena de’ Pazzi." Annali d’Italianistica 13 (1995): 283–305. http://www.jstor.org/stable/24006575.
Schretter, Lukas. "Making Friends, Making Families: Post-World War II Marriages between Austrian Women and British Soldiers, 1945–1955." Genealogy 6, no. 3 (September 2022): 74. https://doi:10.3390/genealogy6030074.
List all authors in both the notes and bibliography. Only invert name order for the first author in the bibliography.
1. Tera Lee Hedrick and Nina Ergin, "A Shared Culture of Heavenly Fragrance: A Comparison of Late Byzantine and Ottoman Incense Burners and Censing Practices in Religious Contexts," Dumbarton Oaks Papers 69 (2015): 331–33, http://www.jstor.org/stable/26497721.
2. Hedrick and Ergin, "Shared Culture," 340.
Hedrick, Tera Lee, and Nina Ergin. "A Shared Culture of Heavenly Fragrance: A Comparison of Late Byzantine and Ottoman Incense Burners and Censing Practices in Religious Contexts." Dumbarton Oaks Papers 69 (2015): 331–54. http://www.jstor.org/stable/26497721.
For articles with four to ten authors, list all author names in the bibliography and list the first author name followed by et al. in the footnotes.
For articles with more than ten authors, list the first seven author names followed by et al. in the bibliography and list the first author name followed by et al. in the footnotes.
Bonus: The second entry by Wu et al. also shows formatting for an article in a special issue of a journal.
1. Daniel Hellfeld et al., "Free-Moving Quantitative Gamma-Ray Imaging," Scientific Reports 11, no. 1 (October 15, 2021): 3–5, 20515. https://doi:10.1038/s41598-021-99588-z.
2. Jianhui Wu et al., "Nuclear Non‐proliferation Review and Improving Proliferation Resistance Assessment in the Future," in "Progress in Emerging Nuclear Energy Systems," ed. Sümer Şahin, special issue, International Journal of Energy Research 45, no. 8 (June 25, 2021): 11399, https://doi:10.1002/er.5486.
3. Hellfeld et al., "Free-Moving," 12.
4. Wu et al., "Nuclear Non-proliferation," 11416.
Hellfeld, Daniel, Mark S. Bandstra, Jayson R. Vavrek, Donald L. Gunter, Joseph C. Curtis, Marco Salathe, Ryan Pavlovsky, et al. "Free-Moving Quantitative Gamma-Ray Imaging." Scientific Reports 11, no. 1 (October 15, 2021): 20515. https://doi:10.1038/s41598-021-99588-z.
Wu, Jianhui, Yuwen Ma, Chenggang Yu, Chunyan Zou, Xiangzhou Cai, and Jingen Chen. "Nuclear Non‐proliferation Review and Improving Proliferation Resistance Assessment in the Future." In "Progress in Emerging Nuclear Energy Systems," edited by Sümer Şahin. Special issue, International Journal of Energy Research 45, no. 8 (June 25, 2021): 11399–422. https://doi:10.1002/er.5486.