Skip to Main Content

Resources for Faculty: Books

Discover and explore Dugan Library resources!

You can use the links and search boxes on this page to find physical and ebooks in the library collection as well as searching WorldCat for items outside of the collection that can be borrow via interlibrary loan.

If there are books (in either physical or electronic form) that you would like to be considered to be added to the library collection, we would love to hear from you! Faculty requests are an important part of our book purchasing decisions. Contact Wesley with requests: cornettw@newmanu.edu

Find Books at Dugan Library

For general guidance on finding books, see Find Books & Media in our Research Basics Guide.

Search the Dugan Library Catalog

Search for physical books and media held at the library.

Search EBSCO for eBooks at Dugan Library

Search for eBooks in the Dugan Library collection.

Search WorldCat Discovery

This will search for resources both held at Dugan Library and held at other libraries.

Why search other libraries? Because we can request resources we don't have in our collection via interlibrary loan (ILL).

  • Use a ‘browse’ search to locate a specific title or author
  • Keyword searches are a great way to start
  • It’s always a good idea to physically browse a subject area and look at the books
  • The majority of the library books are in the general collection, but we have many special collections (Cardinal Newman Collection, Reference, Juvenile, Thesis, Videos and more)
  • Special collections are shelved separately from the general collection
  • If you can’t find a book on the shelf, be sure to ask a library worker for help!

Library of Congress Subject Classification
A General Works
B Philosophy, Psychology, Religion
C Archeology, Genealogy
D History: General, World
E-F History: Western Hemisphere
G Geography, Anthropology
H Social Sciences
J Political Science
K Law
L Education
M Music
N Fine Arts
P Language & Literature
Q Science
R Medicine
S Agriculture
T Technology
U Military Science
V Naval Science
Z Library Science

 

Once you find a book you're interested in, be sure to examine the books nearby.  You might find something valuable that didn't turn up in your catalog search!