Skip to main content

Business: Finding Journal Articles

Basic search tips and strategies for business students

Requesting Article Copies

Please email all article copy requests to: library@newmanu.edu

Business Power Search
Limit Your Results

You might also try these other resources:

Requesting Article Copies Video

No full text for the articles you want? Request copies using the library's interlibrary loan service. Obtain the article copies quickly and at no charge!

Sample Subject Headings

  • Marketing
  • Wealth
  • Labor economics
  • Macroeconomics
  • Microeconomics
  • Corporate culture
  • Finance
  • Decision making
  • Budget deficits

Full Text Finder

This video will walk you through searching for full text availability of journal in our library.  This can be helpful if you have a specific journal article you are looking for or if you want to browse a publication.

Click here to begin searching Full Text Finder!

Adding Databases to Your Search

Need to make changes to your database selections in EBSCO? This quick video demonstrates how easy is it to change your search.

Search Tips

  • Experiment with a variety of keywords and subject headings
  • Use "advance search" options to limit to full text, peer review, date ranges and more
  • Selecting the correct database or combination of databases can save you time when looking for articles
  • Remember that you can get copies of articles through interlibrary loan if they're not full text in the database

Locating Case Studies

Case Studies can be a helpful tool to use when exploring a company or a particular issue related to business and corporations.  If you're research a specific issue or company, you can get started searching in conjunction with the search term "case studies".  This may be searched as a keyword or as a subject heading. 

For example, I'm interested in exploring the ethics of fracking and exploring if there are specific examples of case studies related to fracking.  Different searches I might try would include the following:

  • fracking and ethics
  • hydrauling fracturing and ethics (you definitely want to try variations of a term; this is the official terminology)
  • fracking and case studies
  • fracking and ethics and case studies--as well as substituting hydraulic fracturing to be thorough

You can also enter a company or individual name to search for case studies.  

For the best results, use the Business Power Search and limit the databases searched to:

  • Business Source Premier
  • Computer Source
  • Legal Collection
  • and add Small Business Reference Center

Uncheck the boxes for the databases you want to leave out of your search!